Wednesday, July 16, 2014

THE 5 WAVE by Rick Yancey


Science Fiction; Survival Stories; YA Horror. Book 2: The Infinite Sea
Best Books 2013; Notable Children's Book 2013; YALSA Top 10, etc., etc!
Horn Book starred (Fall 2013)
Cassie, sixteen, prepares herself for the fifth wave of aliens, the final takeover, fearing that she may be all that's left of humanity. She's alone until she meets "very good-looking" Evan Walker, and together they must figure out how to fight back. Yancey vividly portrays Cassie's existential crisis in a broken world: how to live, why to live, and what to care about.


Heads up - Scary, Scary!..... but loved this book! Great for both middle and high school students who love horror.






Tuesday, June 24, 2014

THE SELECTION by Kiera Cass



Romance. Identity. Decision-Making. Book one in a trilogy: The Selection; The One; The Elite
Notes: "Sixteen-year-old America Singer is living in the caste-divided nation of Illea, which formed after the war that destroyed the United States. America is chosen to compete in the Selection--a contest to see which girl can win the heart of Illea's prince--but all she really wants is a chance for a future with her secret love, Aspen, who is a caste below her"--Provided by publisher.
From the Publisher: For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.
But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn't want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.
Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she's made for herself—and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. (Follett's Titlewave)

Grade 7 book club choice. Loved it! Reminded me a bit of The Hunger Games.  Good middle school recommendation.

THE RANGER'S APPRENTICE: THE RUINS OF GORLAN by John Flanagan

Fantasy. "The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!
They have always scared him in the past—the Rangers, with their dark cloaks and shadowy ways. The villagers believe the Rangers practice magic that makes them invisible to ordinary people. And now 15-year-old Will, always small for his age, has been chosen as a Ranger's apprentice. What he doesn't yet realize is that the Rangers are the protectors of the kingdom. Highly trained in the skills of battle and surveillance, they fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And as Will is about to learn, there is a large battle brewing. The exiled Morgarath, Lord of the Mountains of Rain and Night, is gathering his forces for an attack on the kingdom. This time, he will not be denied. . . .

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, and Christopher Paolini's Eragon series
 
 
Matt D's recommendation from grade 8 book club....and he is a reader beyond compare! I agree that it has a great plot and portrays admirable qualities of a true Ranger. Highly recommend for elementary and middle school readers. Good choice also for reluctant readers.

A WIZARD OF EARTHSEA by Ursula Le Guin


  Fantasy. "Ged was the greatest sorcerer in all Earthsea, but once he was called       Sparrowhawk, a reckless youth, hungry for power and knowledge, who tampered  with long-held secrets and loosed a terrible shadow upon the world. This is the tale  of his testing, how he mastered the mighty words of power, tamed an ancient dragon, and crossed death's threshold to restore the balance." (from the publisher).
I enjoyed rediscovering this classic fantasy. My grade 8 students did not share my enthusiasm and felt that it is geared towards a younger audience. I thought this opinon interesting because I believe that there are some very advanced concepts. I read them the following quote from the ending:
 
"...Ged had neither lost nor won but, naming the shadow of his death with his own name, had made himself whole; a man: who, knowing his whole true self, cannot be used or possessed by any power tother than himself, and whose life therefore is lived for life's sake and never in the service of ruin, or pain, or hatred, or the dark. In the Creation of Ea, which is the oldest song, it is said, "Only in silence, only in dark the light, only in dying life: bright the hawk's flight on the empty sky."
 
So, I loved this book and Le Guin's beautiful writing, but will take into account my grade 8 book club's opinion when recommending this to others.

Sunday, February 23, 2014

WONDER by R.J. Palacio

315 pages.Bullying; Self Perception; Overcoming Adversity; Kindness; Friendship; Middle School. 

NY Times Bestseller

Description from Titlewave.com:"Notes: Ten-year-old Auggie Pullman, who was born with extreme facial abnormalities and was not expected to survive, goes from being home-schooled to entering fifth grade at a private middle school in Manhattan, which entails enduring the taunts and fear of his classmates as he struggles to be seen as just another student.
From the Publisher: I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse."

Horn Book (Fall 2012)
"Born with a severe facial deformity, formerly homeschooled Auggie is starting fifth grade. We learn how desperately he wants friends but little of what he might offer in return, as he seems to be defined by his disability. Still, this novel is a heartbreaker, and one that for many readers may provide a new definition of bravery in the face of adversity."

This a perfect choice for summer reading lists and classrooms. It will provide much material for discussion. Fair Warning: Readers will most likely cry! The message of friendship, love, and kindness is much needed today. Thank you R.J. Palacio.




Monday, February 10, 2014

Welcome Library Info 6!

Welcome to Mrs. Schuster's Library Info 6 Class!

Please tell me about a book that you have enjoyed. It can be a book from when you were little or a book that you are reading now.

Click on the comment link below.
Use the 'anonymous' option so you don't have to sign in.

Write the following:
1. Your first name

2. Book Title and author if you remember.

3. Why you like it.

I'm reading The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien with my eighth grade book club right now. Frodo Baggins tries to carry the all powerful ring given to him by his Uncle Bilbo to the safety of Rivendale. It's a great adventure!
I am looking forward to seeing what you are reading. Please click on the comment link below. Make sure to sign your book suggestion with your first name so I can give you credit!

Thank you.

Mrs. Schuster

Thursday, January 09, 2014

PAPERBOY by Vince Vawter

222 pages. Coming of Age, Disabilities, Stuttering, Racism, Historical Fiction

"An 11-year-old boy living in Memphis in 1959 throws the meanest fastball in town, but talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering, not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend's paper route for the month of July, he knows he'll be forced to communicate with the different customers, including a housewife who drinks too much and a retired merchant marine who seems to know just about everything." (titlewave.com)

Great choice for classroom discussions. Older elementary, middle school and up. The issues raised will encourage thinking from a new perspective. Wonderful read.

Wednesday, December 18, 2013

BEFORE I FALL by Lauren Oliver

Grades 9-12 mature content.  Fiction: Death, Interpersonal relations, Popularity, Conduct, High School, BullyingLoved this book! Lauren Oliver explores the topics of bullying, insecurity, friendship, and courage in a realistic portrayal of the high school experience. I began reading it with trepidation because I thought it was going to be a teenage angst, groundhog day story, but I was completely wrong. This is one to recommend to high school students.
 
"Grades 9-12. If you could relive your last day, what would you do differently? This is what Samantha asks herself when, after a fatal accident driving from a party on Friday, she wakes in her bed to find she must repeat the entire day again. And again. As Samantha lives through multiple Fridays, desperate to prevent her death, she is struck by how even the most insignificant acts, like running late for school instead of being on time, can change everything. Suddenly she is noticing uncomfortable things—about her friends, about herself—she has never noticed before. It’s the ultimate learning experience, and it takes Samantha seven times—not to save her own life but to leave with one she can be proud of. Oliver, in a pitch-perfect teen voice, explores the power we have to affect the people around us in this intensely believable first novel. Samantha grows from an entitled, popular, yet insecure girl to one with the compassion and guts to make the right decisions. This is a compelling book with a powerful message that will strike a chord with many teens." Booklist (October 15, 2009 (Vol. 106, No.4))


 

Monday, December 16, 2013

YOUR FAVORITE BOOKS - HOLIDAY SEASON UPDATE

Please click on the comment link below to suggest good books for middle school students.

Write your suggestion for a good book to read.
1. Write the title, author (if you know)
2. Genre? (mystery, adventure, fantasy, science fiction, historical fiction, realistic fiction, nonfiction - you get the point!)
3. Who would you recommend this book to? Who is the perfect audience?
4. Sign your first name only please
5. Select the anonymous option
6. You may have to fill in the random letter form to prove you are an actual person and not some robot!
7. Click publish


Thank you and happy reading!
Mrs. Schuster

Check out some of these titles!